Skip to content

Spinning for myself… Getting to it.

June 28, 2011

My "distraction"... my sweet nephew Carter

Well… while on vacation, I forgot how hard it is to find time for yourself 🙂  Well, not exactly, but so far our vacation has been so full and so fun it’s been hard to find time to just sit. Visting family, getting to know my sweet new nephew Carter and visiting the local zoo with the family. And now of course I’ve been given a fiber-y bit of distraction.  My dad took me to a local llama farm and I bought a pound of roving… its gorgeous and so soft… can’t wait to spin this up… but it will have to wait just a bit.  If I start on this, I may never get a chance to spin my intended roving.

Speaking of my roving…

It’s a gorgeous cashmere blend.  Now, I didn’t dye this blend myself, I purchased it from friend and local fiberista Stephanie Stratton of LunabudKnits.  She and I met through etsy a couple years ago as we were the only two fiber artists at the time on our Bluegrass Etsy team.  She is an amazing dyer and spinner.  I bought one of her merino rovings through etsy which at the time was unnamed and she let me name the colorway.  “Monet’s Muse” was born.  So when I saw that the colorway was now on a cashmere blend… I had instant fiber lust.   It’s now mine… and has been sitting on my shelf for a little over a month, staring at me… wanting to be spun… so now, challenged to knit my own handspun for myself… Here I go!

The pre-draft has begun…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

