Skip to content

Getting the ideas out!

November 8, 2009

This last month has been a whirlwind of activity with Sarabee Designs!  Moving into Dreaming Tree Studio, an upcoming *yet to be announced* big event is on the horizon (I should be able to announce next week!!), the holiday season is upon us and orders are coming in by droves!  It’s amazing!  One year ago, my business was just starting to spread it’s wings and I was happy if I got a sale every other week.  Now I’m printing postage and heading to the big blue box every few days!  I’m so amazed by what this small “Let’s see if I can do this” venture has become.   The amount of contacts, both local and abroad I’m making are really encouraging.  

So here I sit today… with the need to bulk up my stock staring me in the face and ideas shooting through my head faster than I keep up with them.   And I must bottleneck them into a consistent stream of thought or they just might start some kind of fist fight in my head… so get in line ideas… time to get some of you out on paper so the rest can continue to grow.  

I have the cutest little pink journal.  A recent gift from my husband.  It has quickly become a sketchbook, a list book, a random idea book.  It’s nowhere near legible for outside onlookers… so no worries about any Slugworths trying to steal my candy genius.  It’s my brain… in cute pink journal form.  I’ve been getting artistic advise from some and it goes in there… random to do and thank yous that need to be made… they too, go in the book.  And then tomorrow, like a mad scientist I’ll be pouring through the pages of chickenscratch, trying to remember what that acronym meant… but mostly, thankful that I wrote it down so that it wouldn’t become another fleeting “could have been”.  

I can guarantee you, your way of getting your thoughts out is better than mine… for you.  Being married to a very organized person has led me to understand that although my husband is a Godsend to me… without him I’d be lost and overbooked in my everyday life.  I’m terrible at forgetting dates and feel like I’m living 15 minutes behind the rest of the world most of the time.  But it’s also led me to the realization that I’m organized creatively.  I can find that 13th hour… I can create that 13th hour!!  Whatever works for you… do it!!  You know you.  Don’t try to work a system that is geared for the person you aren’t.  If it’s keeping a jotting journal like me, then cool… if it’s keeping a detailed list of to-do, go for it… if it’s keeping an open document on your desktop and just adding to it  in sections then live it up!! 🙂  But find someway to not let your ideas go to waste!  They came to you for a reason!  Get them out!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2009 3:29 pm

    great advice, as always!

  2. November 11, 2009 12:25 am

    Just started jotting down ideas for blog entries and my husband found my list…it read…

    1. Stocking Stuffers
    2. Ah sweet Rod Stewart
    3. Do you all make ALL of this stuff

    He was slightly confused and worried I believe!!! Haha ok well!!!

    • November 11, 2009 8:58 am

      I love it and specifically can’t wait to read the post regarding Sweet Rod Stewart! 🙂 lol!

Leave a Reply

