Skip to content

Movin’ on in!

October 26, 2009

DSCN3293Today was my big move in day to Dreaming Tree Studio.  I’m so so thrilled to be a part of this shop!  I can’t tell you how thrilled I am to be a part of it!

To first of all, acknowledge myself as an artist has been a very very long road.  I like to craft… I like to give gifts.  I like to make crafts for gifts… but I’ve always felt somewhat lacking.  A dear friend of mine from childhood recently sent me a large batch of notes from junior high and high school… things I had written her, given her, ect.  Case in point I realized that I was a lot more dramatic than I thought I was in the moment… I will file that away to recall in my next dramatic moment 😉  Secondly, there was one small note that was a guarantee notice for an item she “bought” from my first ever small business… the friendship bracelet making biz.   I laughed so hard… I had completely forgotten the countless rec times that I sat under a tree with my box of embroidery floss and macraméd my little heart out.  But that was kind of the start for me… I love to craft and I want to make my life about making things I love.  Who doesn’t want to love what they do??  Fast forward to a couple summers ago… starting my etsy venture… fast forward to the Pioneer Festival this last Labor Day.  I have wanted to be a part of that festival for 10 years now, but really had literally nothing to bring to the table.  Suddenly my whole focus became the festival… I had no idea or foresight to what was to come of my yarn biz AFTER the festival… but that led to a chance meeting with DeAndra who was also seeking to do what she loves (which by the way… is FANTASTIC handstamped jewelry).  And then fast forward to today.  I haven’t had my cry yet… it is coming… once i let myself realize what just happened…. but this moment… selling my yarns in a physical location… surrounded by other amazing handcrafters… there’s a certain sense of affirmation.  Like life giving, classic Molly Ringwald-80s movie, coming of age affirmation.  

DSCN3291

I cannot begin to say thank you enough to DeAndra and Desiree for what they are doing with this shop.  If each of the other consigners felt a fraction of what I do… it’s giving us as artists… or at least me… reason to keep creating!  Again… not to be overly dramatic, but sometimes it’s easy to get down on yourself if you have a dry spell… sometimes all it takes is someone to let you know you do good work.  It’s been 

a dream of mine since moving to Winchester to have a shop downtown and I feel like being a part of this shop is a dream come true.  I can’t wait to see all the cool things that come in and out of the store.  I can’t wait to see people embrace the handmade revolution (it really is the new green ya know!).  I’m just excited to be a part of something with these two sisters who are so excited themselves to dream big and encourage others to do the same!  

The Grand Opening is November 5th!  Come on down, I will be spinning yarn in the shop during opening weekend and giving mini-tutorials as needed with the yarns and drop spindles.  Come on down and see the amazing shop… my stuff is only one small part… there is stuff for everyone on your holiday shopping list!  Support handmade artisans… I promise you won’t be disappointed!

PS… Super big shout out to Tara… I love you friend.  It was perfect timing for you to be in town this week… you helping me move in meant a great deal to me.  Can’t wait to move you in tomorrow 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2009 3:26 am

    SB I am so insainly proud of you, this looks amazing!

    I love you girl
    Tracy

    • October 27, 2009 8:14 am

      tracy… i’m speechless… 🙂 you make my heart smile and your compliments are priceless. 🙂

  2. Melanie permalink
    October 27, 2009 2:11 pm

    Sara… how cool is this?! Way to go! Much congratulations!

  3. October 27, 2009 3:54 pm

    I am always more than glad to help a dear friend! I am so proud of you for following your dream. All those wasted hours talking at work were well worth it! Love you friend!

  4. October 28, 2009 12:02 am

    Sarah!!! We are so glad to have you join our fam at the Dreaming Tree Studio! We opened this store for people just like you…artists, mothers, friends! I’ve already got people asking about learning to knit and crochet…the future is looking bright!

  5. jusshardesigns permalink
    November 23, 2009 1:47 pm

    This post makes me want to cry with joy for you. I can actually feel the emotion in you.

    I wish you the very best with this venture, and am also thrilled that there are people out there like DeAndra and Desiree who believe in people like us.

    Congrats!

    • November 23, 2009 5:37 pm

      thank you so much for your encouraging words. so kind. 🙂

Leave a Reply

