Skip to content

Saturday Spotlight

July 25, 2009

saturdayspotlightSorry about the absence… I have no excuse except the business of life with three children.  We’ve been blessed by lots of company over this last month which has been wonderful… but has left me falling asleep mid-sentence.  Makes me feel old… like I should be adding prunes to my diet or something. 🙂

But… not only am I back… I’m back with a fabulous retro gaming artist Lauren from LostMitten!  She has a love for all things old school nintendo, which does this 80s girl’s heart good!  I do love me some Mario Bros! 

Anyway… on to the fabulous interview!

How did you first learn about etsy? I learned about Etsy when it first launched back in 2005 from being a member of the Craftster forums.  I was always into crafting and knitting at the time, and was thinking of starting up an Etsy shop just as a fun hobby.  Once I joined Etsy, I knew that I was hooked!  Etsy is such a great creative outlet for me, and I love shopping on Etsy, too! 

How long have you been an estian?  I have been an Etsian since early 2006 and officially opened my Etsy shop in September of 2006.

How long have you been practicing your craft?  I have always been into crafting in various forms since I was a small child, including making cross stitches and needlepoint creations.  I learned how to knit about 7 years ago, and I have been making crafts out of Perler Beads for the past 5 years or so.  I love learning how to make new crafts – I love how the possibilities are endless! 

Do you participate in art shows/guilds? I currently do not participate in any art shows.  My work is mainly just online for the moment.  I was able to attend one show in person, which was at the Personal Computer Museum (www.pcmuseum.ca) in my hometown of Brantford, Ontario – it wasn’t an arts/crafts show, it was a spring sale for computer and video game lovers, so my crafts were really right at home there! 

Do you blog?  Yes, I do!  I love writing and blogging about my crafts, about various Etsy finds, and a variety of other things that happen in my day-to-day life!  My blog is found here:  http://lostmittenblog.blogspot.com 


What is your favorite flavor of ice cream 🙂 ?  Ooh, I love ice cream!  Anything chocolate, please!  It is hard to narrow it down to one flavor so I’ll say anything chocolatey, or maple pecan, or any kind of coffee-flavored ice cream. 

Any new or upcoming additions or projects in your shop?  I’m always adding new things to my Etsy Shop!  I’m working right now on a new series of video game needlepoint fridge magnets, as well as some new Perler Bead crafts coming up.  Stay tuned! 🙂 

 

Be sure to check out her shop!!  🙂 


3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2009 11:47 pm

    Her shop is really neat- I actually bought a PacMan thing from her shop for a Christmas present for my fiancé, so I can say how awesome her stuff is. 🙂

    • July 29, 2009 12:04 am

      awesome Meri! I’m sure she will love the added support! 🙂 I have my eye on several of her items for my brother who is a huge gamer! Her stuff is amazing… it looks so real… or as real as the digitized old nintendo used to look! 🙂

  2. July 30, 2009 1:50 pm

    Thanks again for the interview!! 🙂 I appreciate it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

