Skip to content

Love of life…

July 6, 2009

Anyone else tired of all the high profile deaths lately?! I’m just about done with death.  Doesn’t he need a holiday? About 2 weeks ago, my little town had two young fathers die just days before fathers day.  One, by his own hand… and the other just complete unfathomable accident.  My heart reeled and broke and selfishly worried for my own loved ones… but mostly just wept for the loved ones of these very different circumstances.  I don’t understand the wonder of death… the random end of life.  I just don’t.  In many ways,  in the wake of these two deaths… and now covered in massive coverage of one celebrity death after another… I have found myself left comatose… numb, but at the same time vulnerably raw emotionally.  The stark dichotomy of these two reactions have thrust me into new thinking.  I want it to stir something in me… I want it to cause some kind of change for the better. I want the reality of life’s fragility to remind me to kiss my husband more.  I want it to inspire me to hug on my sons more.  I want it to make me more passionate in my pursuit of being an artist.  I want it to make me stop.  I want it to make me go!  I want it to make me love life and the blessing of having one.   

I hurt and ache for these families… from Michael Jackson’s to the man down the street… my heart is heavy with weeping with those who weep… but I will also remember to laugh a little extra with Liam today… I will be conscious to color with Lukas without distraction today and I will hold my precious baby Landon a little longer before his nap today to remind myself of my love for their lives and for mine.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2009 12:41 am

    Isn’t it ironic that it’s death that makes us truly live?

  2. July 17, 2009 1:03 am

    Death does the same thing to me SB. It’s hard for me not to be moved by it all. Not attracted to it, just woken up by it. Good thoughts here.

Leave a Reply

