Skip to content

Saturday Spotlight: Cloudlover

June 6, 2009

saturdayspotlightAs a fiber artist, I’m always looking to others for inspiration, to gauge the going prices on certain items, and in my case to get intimidated motivated to try new things 🙂  One of the leading ladies of fiber is Natalie… she’s the creative force behind Cloudlover.  Amazing yarns and fibers!  She’s out of Chicago and if you check her blog you can find out when she’s coming to a festival near you (especially if you’re part of my Chicago friends/fam fan base).

On with the interview!  Spotlight on Natalie!

How did you find out about etsy? I first found Etsy by Googling “handmade soap”. I’m not sure what I was looking for exactly, but someone’s Etsy listing popped up in the search results, and the rest is history! That was in February 2007…

How long have you been an etsian?  I’ve been an Etsian since then. I started selling hand-sewn lavender sachets in the shape of fortune cookies along with miscellaneous cat toys that summer. In the fall, I taught myself how to crochet, and I started buying handspun yarn…

How long have you been practicing your craft? After buying my first couple skeins of handspun yarn and learning how to knit, I became more enraptured by the yarn itself. I asked my mom for a drop spindle kit for Christmas. I gave it a few tries that winter but didn’t make much of it until a couple of months later. As soon as I got going, I wanted to move on to the next step- dyeing! I began selling handpainted wool in my shop in March of 2008, and got my wheel a month later. Since then I’ve been an unstoppable woolly force. Dyeing consumes most of my time, but I still spin, card batts and even knit whenever I have a spare moment! My office is freezing, so I have plans to spin and knit my first cardigan soon.

Do you participate in any art shows/guilds?  My first show was YarnCon in Chicago last fall. I was a vendor at my first sheep and wool fest – Shepherd’s Harvest Festival in Minnesota – in May. I’ll also be vending at the Midwest Fiber and Folk Art Festival in Illinois in July, along with the Wisconsin Sheep & Wool Festival in September and YarnCon in the fall. I’d do more if the pesky day job didn’t keep me stuck in a cubicle 40 hours a week!

Do you blog?  Do I have a blog? Yes. Do I update it on a regular basis? Not so much! I have lots to blog about though, so I should really start pouring those ideas out. I use Twitter a lot; I think that’s where most of my updates and ideas end up- short and sweet!

My favorite random question… favorite ice cream?  Favorite ice cream- mint chocolate chip by a landslide! Starbuck’s Java Chip Frappuccino is a distant second. 

Any new projects coming up for Cloudlover? Now that it’s finally getting warm out, I’m washing all the fleeces I’ve been hoarding all summer. I hope to card them into textured batts and also spin some “au natural” yarn from them. I’m also expanding my current inventory of fibers to include superwash; sock spinners, take note!

 

Thanks so much Natlie!  Seriously… this woman rocks on the wheel… be sure to check out her shop! 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

