Skip to content

days like today…

May 13, 2009

DSC_0467days like today I don’t miss “city life”…

We woke up this morning and piled the boys in the car and took Lukas to school… then dropped off the little guys at Grams for the morning and set off to tackle some farm duties.  We live on my husband’s parent’s beautiful 180 acre farm in Kentucky.  We still wonder if we’ll ever be able to take the sunsets for granted… so far we haven’t.  My father in law is an amazing farmer, and I love to see him in his element.  While normally a very quiet man, on the farm he comes alive… it’s really cool to see.  I hope I’m that visually alive when involved in my passions… or that I can gain that… b/c it’s a very cool thing to witness.

We are preparing for this years tobacco crop and one of our tasks at hand was to clear the fields of rocks so that the ground can be tilled up.  How there are three times as many rocks in field we just cleared a year ago… not sure… but none the less… before we started on this task we got to herd cattle with my father in law.  I herded cattle today.

I thought I grew up in the country… as in my house was surrounded by corn fields… but this is a whole new definition of country life.  I was out there hollering and herding cows.  Woo!  Exhilarating.  Not exactly what I thought I’d be doing when I woke up this morning.

Anyway.  So I got to do that this morning… got rained on (so the rock collecting came to an abrupt halt) and got to spin some yarn and it dawned on me… I love my life.  I was telling someone today… my life in the suburbs was just so completely different that even though we may be  a lot more active down here by means of school and farm and work and church and kids… we have so much more room to breathe.  Literally, yes, but also I feel like my soul has more room to breathe.  I have become more of me… it’s days like today in the midst of just completely unheard of activity like herding cattle comes into my life so naturally… that I stop and just have to be so thankful for where I am.   I really like the me I’m starting to become… I wasn’t always so sure I wanted to be friends with the person I was… but that is changing.  I love creating… I’m LOVING being home with my babies and watching them grow…

Days like today… I like days like today.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2009 9:55 am

    i am glad to share farm life with you…yesterday was fun.

  2. Tara permalink
    May 14, 2009 4:50 pm

    Beautifully said!

Leave a Reply

