Skip to content

Saturday Spotlight: MeriGreenleaf

May 9, 2009

saturdayspotlight

MeriGreenleaf is one of the ringleaders of the motley crew of Etsy Fiber Artists otherwise known as EtsyFAST (of which I’m a proud member).  She specializes in all things elvish and makes a great deal of cute accessories for the elf (or imp) in your life!

How did you first learn about etsy? Oh geez, let’s see if I can remember- I’ve been on Etsy so long I can’t really recall, lol. I think I heard about it from one of my friends- she used to have a shop on here but hasn’t listed anything in a very long time, though. If I remember right, she mentioned Etsy as something like a “cool site with handmade things” and I was hooked! She’s also the one who taught me chainmaille, so I guess I can blame her for a lot of my artistic choices. 😉

How long have you been an estian? I joined March 18, 2007 as a buyer, and think I started listing things sometime in April of that year. Like I said, I’ve been on Etsy a long time. 🙂

How long have you been practicing your craft?  I’ve been an artist all my life; as a kid I made plastic jewelry and different kinds of craft kits and drew a lot, too. When I was older I took all the art classes I could and in high school spent a lot of free time after school in the pottery classroom- I *loved* that class! In high school my mom taught me how to handsew, too. 
Do you participate in art shows/guilds? I’ve only been able to do one small craft show (my current health condition keeps me from going out to sell my art), but I’m in all sorts of online groups on Etsy (EtsyFAST, EtsyHookers, the Fantasy Artists, Pagans of Etsy, and the EarthPath artisans, specifically) and on Ravelry, and I recently joined one on Artfire, too. 

Do you blog?  Yup, I love blogging! My art blogs are on blogspot and livejournal:
http://merigreenleaf.blogspot.com
http://elbit-blog.livejournal.com
and I’ve also started Twittering and Plurking recently, which is like blogging, only more compact. I’m merigreenleaf on both those sites.

What is your favorite flavor of ice cream? Oh, you tempt me with an ice cream question! I used to *love* ice cream, but I’m lactose intolerant now, so can only have soy ice cream (and while good, isn’t quite the same). My favorite flavor is vanilla, but I love chocolate sauce or hot fudge and rainbow sprinkles on it. …and now you got me hungry! 😉

Any new or upcoming additions or projects in your shop?   I’m always coming up with new ideas and adding new kinds of things to my shop, and trying to think of new ways to make costume or fantasy things (my attention span is very short, so I like making all kinds of different things). Right now I’ve been working on crocheted elf/fairy ears and the next project I’ve been kicking around in my head is polymer clay ears and different styles of clay horns.

Thanks so much Meri!  Be sure to check out her shop!  

 

In other news… I just got interviewed over on Tara’s blog!  Thanks friend… 🙂

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 10, 2009 4:07 pm

    Ack! While mentioning my street teams/groups I completely forgot one of my favorites- ABST (the Artisan Beaders Street Team). How the heck did I do that? lol!

    Anyway, thanks for featuring me! 😀

Leave a Reply

