Skip to content

WOW!

May 5, 2009

Etsy is such a cool environment… for those of you who aren’t completely engulfed in it like I am finding myself… let me do a little explaining.

Last summer, I found myself daydreaming at work… big surprise there right?  Anyway… my husband is in grad school and he’s discovering all these really cool things he wants to do ‘when he grows up’.  I’ve always wanted to be a mommy, kinda happened into the administrative field, but working behind a desk was NOT what I aspired to be.  So back to daydreaming… I was reading craft blogs and happened upon several blogs of local yarn store owners… that was it.  I love to knit, thanks to my honorary big sister Missy who taught me when I was eight (to note: my actual big sister did try to teach me to crochet I believe… but my brain wasn’t ready for that!!).  I live in a small town in Kentucky and would love nothing more than to own a small shop on main street.  I still would love this, but with a husband in school, and a new baby at home, not the best timing.  But I started researching it, and a sudden serendipitous set of events happened.  I googled “want to open a yarn store” and found a forum of like minded people, one of whom had decided to start dyeing her own yarns and selling them on etsy.com.  Around the same time I happened upon a blog of a delightful woman in Canada whom I found an instant kindredness with.  She also sold on etsy.  I began to look at etsy daily… going through shop after shop.  Thanks to dear family friends, I was also indirectly given the financial freedom to start this journey.  All within about a month from my 28th birthday.  On my 28th birthday as a milestone moment… I listed my first dyed yarns on etsy. 

Fast forward through the last 10 months… I’ve made a few more sales, learned to spin yarn, continued to learn about the dying process and signed up for my first large craft show.  Etsy not only is a selling place, but it has built in communities as well.  I’ve been too intimidated to join… I’ve admired so many of these artists from afar… how dare I assume to join their ranks?!  But, this last weekend, I made a few more baby steps… joined several street teams (we talk via message boards and forums, we help promote each other, encourage one another) including EtsyKnitters, TeamBluegrass, Yarn-a-holics, and the one I really watched closely… EtsyFiberArtsStreetTeam (EtsyFAST for short!).  I’ve already twittered and talked with several of the artists from the teams and I’m just honored to be a part of them.

Each time I’ve taken a step with this shop, it’s really been affirming.  And I just received my biggest affirmation yet… one of my yarns was chosen for an etsy treasury!  On it’s main page, etsy keeps a changing group of “top 12” items.  They are chosen by fellow etsy artists.  I had to pick my jaw up off the floor when I got the email that a fellow etsyFAST artist chose one of my yarns for her treasury!  I’m honored, baffled and completely floored by this.  This has been such a cool journey for me.  Such a open door for my artistic endeavors.  Thank you so much JeannieLee for including me in your collection.  

And thank you to those reading this for your encouragement and support!!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2009 6:45 pm

    . i love when you spin a tale with words…(you are a great writer)

    it reminds me of this quote from way back in the day…

    Such as are your habitual thoughts, such also will be the character of your mind; for the soul is dyed by the thoughts” –Marcus Aurelius

    I love the steps you are taking. You are being brave and faithful to the way your heart has been knit together…

    kp

  2. May 5, 2009 9:30 pm

    Sarabethie,

    That is so cool and I aspire to be like you. I have found that I don’t want to teach forever and would someday like to open my own children’s bookstore. I hope to have the faith and courage to someday step out and try my dream! You do beautiful work and I am proud to call you my friend!!! Love you!

    Tara

    • May 5, 2009 10:31 pm

      Tara… i’m blown away… literally in tears right now with your humbling and encouraging words. You would make a wonderful children’s bookstore owner… your background as a teacher will only bolster that! You’ll know what really speaks to children and what doesn’t! I can’t wait to come visit your shop someday! I can happen!! 🙂

  3. Michaele permalink
    May 7, 2009 1:25 am

    Sis…you were “knit together” in your mother’s womb…that should have been your first clue that you were meant to knit…not crochet 🙂 You and your work are beautiful…”For I know the plans I have for you…”
    Michaele

    • May 8, 2009 6:09 pm

      🙂 Thanks Michaele… 🙂 I did end up learning to crochet… and it had a lot to do with that book you bought me… so you taught me after all!

Leave a Reply

