Skip to content

learning to spin a new yarn…

April 13, 2009

I’ve been experimenting lately with different fibers… not really had anything especially exciting to share and add that along with spring break, internet outage and generally mommy of three tiredness… and you have a long stretch between posts!

I’m excited to announce that Sarabee Designs will be debuting at the Clark County Pioneer Festival this Labor Day!! 🙂 It is held over Labor Day weekend in Winchester Kentucky at the centralized College Park.  It’s always fun to go and walk around the festival… it will definitely be a new experience to be a vendor there!  I am 99% sure I’m in… they’ve cashed my check…. so I take that as acceptance!   In the coming months I will be gathering supplies… planning out my layout of my tent and generally dyeing and spinning like crazy.

I have also been experimenting with felted soap… think soap with a sweater on.  It will also debut at the festival as a little side item.  It’s a really cool little gift item… I’ve been using one of my less successful experiments in my shower and even though it’s not exactly right… the felted wool around the soap lathers up MUCH better than any loofah I’ve ever used and it’s pretty.  Supposedly, it will continue to felt with use and shrink down with bar of soap leaving a little scrubby when it’s gone.  I’m interested in how well this will work.

As for spinning… I’ve been purchasing roving from other etsians… sampling different types of wool and trying to learn from them.

waterlilyCorridale X… not quite as soft as merino…
but still soft enough to be worn next to the skin…
fibers are more coiled than merino… I like working with this roving
It makes really funky thick and thin yarn…

ringoffire2

Blue Faced Leicester… very shiny and springy…
not quite as corse as Corriedale…
very pretty and fun to work with…

And currently I’m spinning with a extremely luxurious deep navy alpaca and merino blend.  It’s so soft. That is actually an understatement… it’s possibly the softest fiber I’ve ever worked with… will definitely work more with alpaca!!  It’s spinning a very even thinner yarn.  I am really liking learning the ins and outs of alpaca roving!

Anyway… that’s an update!   Will check in more regularly!  I promise!! 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Tara permalink
    April 13, 2009 6:55 pm

    I can’t believe that you got accepted at the festival. That is great! Can’t wait to see your booth!

  2. Mom permalink
    April 19, 2009 9:33 pm

    I’m so proud of you!! You’ve always been so creative in so many venues, are you sure you’re my kid?

Leave a Reply

