Skip to content

My Christmas gift…

January 3, 2009

           dsc01157

We took a family vacation the week before Christmas this year and so my husband and I bought each other our gifts while down there… or more accurately, we gave each other permission to buy ourselves something we wanted for our gifts this year.  My husband bought himself two new baseball hats… very fitting, he bought a Chicago White Sox hat (go sox!) and a University of Kentucky hat (go cats!).  🙂  

He was very happy.  I did an internet search for yarn stores in the area and found the cutest little shop, The Smoky Mountain Spinnery.  I went in thinking I would buy some new yarns, but then I saw the drop spindles! 

 I had been reading about spinning yarns and looking online at spinning kits and I began to ask the owner questions.  She was very helpful in selecting the right weighted spindle for me and got me a step by step booklet.  She sold beautifully dyed merino wool roving (the wool after washing and carding and dying, but BEFORE it’s yarn for those who may not know) and I picked some of that up too.  Off we went.  

dsc01158

I’m not a natural book learner so after learning as much as I could by reading I went to the best  resource for visual learners… YOUTUBE!  haha.  I found a wonderful tutorial video by Megan (her website is linked to the right). It all came together then… I’m still learning and most of my yarns are considered “thick and thin” (there are thicker areas and thinner areas in the strand), but I’m having so much fun!   I’ll post more pictures of the finished skiens soon!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2009 8:24 pm

    Lovely!

  2. January 12, 2009 8:31 pm

    Thanks! I actually hope to make Landon a garden gnome hat with this yarn, it’s not enough to actually sell on etsy (the red wool I had only made about 36 yards of yarn) but it’s really soft and I’ve got some greenish yarn I just spun that if the hat works out, I may make one to sell.

Leave a Reply

